Limited Express Shirayuki. Intercity express between Joetsu-Myoko and Niigata

This fleet E653 series will be used for Limited Experss Shirayuki. (C) James Chuang

Limited Express Shirayuki will be operated between Niigata and Hokuriku Shinkansen’s new station, Joetsu-Myoko that is 5 stations away from Naoetsu.

Currently Limited Express Hokuetsu runs between Niigata and Kanazawa. Limited Express Hakutaka runs between Echigo-Yuzawa and Kanazawa. These trains and Joetsu Shinkansen via Nagaoka or Echigo-Yuzawa connect Tokyo and Hokuriku regions now. But Hokuriku Shinkansen will open on March 14, 2015. It will connect Kanazawa, Toyama,and Tokyo directly via Nagano, Joetsu-Myoko and Itoigawa. Therefore after Hokuriku Shinkansen will open, these trains will be discontinued and will be replaces by new train, Limited Express Shirayuki. This new train will connect Joetsu-Myoko and Niigata via other cities along the coast, such as Naoetsu, Kashiwazaki. But unfortunately there will not be any direct access between Kanazawa/Toyama and Niigata any more. And all convention lines that runs in parallel with Shinkansen that is a segment of Nagano – Noetsu – Itoigawa – Toyama – Kanazwa will be owned by third sector companies that is non JR lines. Any JR deals, such as JR Pass, will not cover this segment of conventional lines. Only Shinkansen will be covered by JR Pass. So if you take this train, Limited Express Shirayuki, the segment between Joetsu-Myoko and Naoetsu will not be covered by JR Pass and JR East Pass either. You have to pay the extra on top of JR deals.

At this point, I cannot give you the detailed information yet. But I would like to share the information as much as I can.

Route, schedule and trip time

Limited Express Shirayuki offers train services between Arai / Joetsu-Myoko and Niigata. This train will make stops at major cities along coast side, such as It connects Joetsu-Myoko and Niigata in 2 hours.

5 round trips of this limited express train will be operated. 2 of this 5 round trips will be operated between Arai and Niigata. Other 3 round trips will run between Joetsu-Myoko and Niigata.


Arai (新井) x
Joetsu-Myoko (上越妙高) x
Takada (高田) x
Kasugayama (春日山) *
Naoetsu (直江津) x
Kakizaki (柿崎) x
Kashiwazaki (柏崎) x
Nagaoka (長岡) x
Mitsuke (見附) x
Higashi-Sanjo (東三条) x
Kamo (加茂) x
Niitsu (新津) x
Niigata (新潟) x

x:All trains stop *:Only Shirayuki #1 and #6 stop at this station.

Extra fare for Japan Rail Pass and JR East Pass

There is no press release from JR East yet. But as I mentioned above, the segment between Arai and Naoetsu will be owned by Echigo-Tokimeki Railway that is new third sector railway company. This is not JR lines and I expect this segment will not be covered by JR deals.

The extra charge for this segment is the following:

Segment Base fare Express surcharge Total
Joetsu-Myoko – Naoetsu 240 yen 210 yen 450 yen
Arai – Naoetsu 320 yen 210 yen 530 yen


This train will be operated by renovated E653 series. This train has an ordinary class only.

Ordinary class interior. It is very common but it is very comfortable.

Train formation

This train will be very simple formation. No green car and it will be only 4 cars formation.

1 2 3 4

R=Reserved seat NR=Non reserved seat
*All seats are non smoking and Green car is not available.

5 thoughts on “Limited Express Shirayuki. Intercity express between Joetsu-Myoko and Niigata”

      1. Oh, well thanks for letting me know.


        (was wondering as somebody locally menioned something about a ‘day ticket’ – but perhaps they were mistaken or it was a misunderstanding on my part)

Before you leave your comment, please see the conditions below.
  • Your comment will not be shown until I approve. When you submit your comment, the page will be reloaded but nothing happens. Your comment will be shown when I approve. Please click submit only once and wait for my approval.
  • Please do not ask me to make your itinerary. Because I am not your personal travel agent. I am very happy to check your itinerary. But please try to make the plan by yourself. In this website, there are lots of resources to make your plan.
  • Please do not ask me about the access to your hotel. You can google your hotel and find it at hotel website or google map easily.
  • I cannot recommend any hotels other than which I have stayed. Basically I cannot talk about hotels in this site. The number of hotels are too many to talk about by my experience.
  • If you want to ask me which pass suits your plan, please tell me your detailed itinerary and location to stay. I cannot choose any deals without the detailed itinerary because I have to compare the total single fare and deals.
  • Please do not ask me to reply to your inquiry by email. In this website, I would like to share all information with any readers. I do not communicate with you directly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *