The Limited Express Shirayuki: Intercity express between Joetsu-Myoko and Niigata

Limited Express
This fleet E653 series will be used for Limited Experss Shirayuki. (C) James Chuang
This fleet E653 series will be used for Limited Experss Shirayuki. (C) James Chuang

The limited express Shirayuki operates between Niigata and Joetsu-Myoko of the Hokuriku Shinkansen. If you move between Kanazawa or Toyama and Niigata, you take the Hokuriku Shinkansen between Kanazawa or Toyama and Joetsu-Myoko. And take the limited express Shirayuki to get to Niigata.

In this post, I will explain about this limited express train.

Route, schedule and trip time

The limited express Shirayuki runs between Arai, Joetsu-Myoko and Niigata. This train makes stops at major cities along a coast side, such as Naoetsu, Kashiwazaki and Nagaoka

It connects Joetsu-Myoko and Niigata in 2 hours.

This limited express train operates 5 round trips of a day. 2


Arai (新井)x
Joetsu-Myoko (上越妙高)x
Takada (高田)x
Kasugayama (春日山)*
Naoetsu (直江津)x
Kakizaki (柿崎)x
Kashiwazaki (柏崎)x
Nagaoka (長岡)x
Mitsuke (見附)x
Higashi-Sanjo (東三条)x
Kamo (加茂)x
Niitsu (新津)x
Niigata (新潟)x
x:All trains stop *:A few trips stop at this station.

Extra fare for Japan Rail Pass and JR East Pass Nagano Niigata

The segment between Arai, Joetsu-Myoko and Naoetsu belongs to Echigo-Tokimeki Railway which is non JR railway (the third sector railway company). JR Pass does not cover this segment. However JR East Pass Nagano Niigata covers Echigo Tokimeki Railway between Naoetsu and Arai. Extra fare is not required if you use JR East pass.

The extra charge for this segment is the following:

SegmentBase fareExpress surchargeTotal
Joetsu-Myoko – Naoetsu240 yen210 yen450 yen
Arai – Naoetsu320 yen210 yen530 yen


This train will be operated by renovated E653 series. This train has an ordinary class only.

Ordinary class interior. It is very common but it is comfortable.

Train formation

This train does not have Green class. Only ordinary class seat is available and train is 4 cars formation.

R=Reserved seat NR=Non reserved seat
*All seats are non smoking and Green car is not available.


  1. Hi,

    Please can you tell me how I can book a ticket on the Limited Express Shirayuki – from Niigata Station to Joetsu Myoko Station? I cant seem to find a link anywhere to do this?


  2. Onezenc says:

    I am planning to take this from niigata train to takada (niigata), as the segment before naoetsu covered by JR east pass, would that mean I only need to pay segment from naoetsu to takada fares? Do I need to get off the shinkansen at noetsu and buy the ticket or I just get off at Takada and pay the rest of fare there? Thanks for the help,

    • Takeshi Shimomura, Author of
      Takeshi / says:

      Hi Onezenc,

      Actually Naoetsu-Takada segment is covered by JR East Pass Nagano Niigata. This segment belongs to Echigo Tokimeki Railway which is not JR. But JR East Pass covers Echigo Tokimeki Railway between Naoetsu and Arai. Takada is located on this segment.


      Takeshi /

  3. exploringJapan
    TravellingTheLengthOfEchigo! says:

    Just wondering if there is a one-day ticket that covers travel on the Inaho / Shirayuki trains?

  4. xun says:

    Excellent! exactly what I am looking for.


Exit mobile version
Copied title and URL